

AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #242146

## Ohio Revised Code

Section 1901.021 Court sitting outside corporate limits of municipal corporation.

Effective: March 22, 2019 Legislation: Senate Bill 201 - 132nd General Assembly

(A) Except as otherwise provided in division (M) of this section, the judge or judges of any municipal court established under division (A) of section 1901.01 of the Revised Code having territorial jurisdiction outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation in which it is located may sit outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation within the area of its territorial jurisdiction.

(B) Two or more of the judges of the Hamilton county municipal court shall be assigned by the presiding judge of the court to sit outside the municipal corporation of Cincinnati.

(C) Two of the judges of the Portage county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Ravenna, and one of the judges shall sit within the municipal corporation of Kent. The judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Portage county.

(D) The judges of the Wayne county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Wooster and may sit in other incorporated areas of Wayne county.

(E) The judge of the Auglaize county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of Wapakoneta and St. Marys and may sit in other incorporated areas in Auglaize county.

(F) At least one of the judges of the Miami county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of Troy, Piqua, and Tipp City, and the judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Miami county.

(G) The judge of the Crawford county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of Bucyrus and Galion and may sit in other incorporated areas in Crawford county.

(H) The judge of the Jackson county municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of Jackson and Wellston and may sit in other incorporated areas in Jackson county.



AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #242146

(I) Each judge of the Columbiana county municipal court may sit within the municipal corporation of Lisbon, Salem, or East Palestine until the judges jointly select a central location within the territorial jurisdiction of the court. When the judges select a central location, the judges shall sit at that location.

(J) In any municipal court, other than the Hamilton county municipal court and the Montgomery county municipal court, that has more than one judge, the decision for one or more judges to sit outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation shall be made by rule of the court as provided in division (C) of sections 1901.14 and 1901.16 of the Revised Code.

(K) The assignment of a judge to sit in a municipal corporation other than that in which the court is located does not affect the jurisdiction of the mayor except as provided in section 1905.01 of the Revised Code.

(L) The judges of the Clermont county municipal court may sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory within Clermont county.

(M) Beginning July 1, 2010, the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in the same locations as the judges of the Montgomery county court sat before the county court was abolished on that date. The legislative authority of the Montgomery county municipal court may determine after that date that the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory within Montgomery county.

(N) The judge of the Tiffin-Fostoria municipal court shall sit within each of the municipal corporations of Tiffin and Fostoria on a weekly basis. Cases that arise within the municipal corporation of Tiffin and within Adams, Big Spring, Bloom, Clinton, Eden, Hopewell, Liberty, Pleasant, Reed, Scioto, Seneca, Thompson, and Venice townships in Seneca county shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the court located in the municipal corporation of Tiffin. Cases that arise in the municipal corporation of Fostoria and within Loudon and Jackson townships in Seneca county, within Washington township in Hancock county, and within Perry township, except within the municipal corporation of West Millgrove, in Wood county, shall be filed in the office of the special deputy clerk located in the municipal corporation of Fostoria.