

Ohio Revised Code Section 122.29 Ohio river commission.

Effective: April 3, 2025

Legislation: Senate Bill 54 - 135th General Assembly

- (A) The Ohio river commission is created within the department of development to develop and promote economic development, marine cargo terminal operations, and travel and tourism on the Ohio river and its tributaries. The commission consists of the following members:
- (1) The director of development, or the director's designee, who shall serve as chairperson of the commission;
- (2) The director of transportation, or the director's designee;
- (3) The director of natural resources, or the director's designee;
- (4) Six members representing the general public, three of whom shall be appointed by the president of the senate and three of whom shall be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives.

The appointed members may represent private industry associated or affiliated with marine cargo terminal operations on the Ohio river and private industry possessing experience in marine cargo terminal operations or travel and tourism on the Ohio river.

- (B)(1) Each appointed member of the commission shall be a resident of this state or a designee of a business licensed or registered in this state.
- (2) All members shall be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.
- (C)(1) Within sixty days after the effective date of this section, the speaker of the house of representatives and the senate president shall make initial appointments to the commission.
- (2) Terms of office for appointed members shall be for four years.



- (3) Vacancies shall be filled in the manner provided for original appointments.
- (4) Each term shall end on the same day of the same month as did the term that it succeeds. Each appointed member shall hold office from the date of the member's appointment until the end of the term for which the member was appointed. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy before the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of that term. Any appointed member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the member's term until the member's successor takes office, or for a period of sixty days, whichever occurs first. All members are eligible for reappointment.
- (D) Five members of the commission constitute a quorum. The affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum is necessary for any action taken by the commission. No vacancy in the membership of the commission impairs the rights of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all the duties of the commission.
- (E) All members of the commission are subject to Chapter 102. of the Revised Code.
- (F) The department of development may assist the commission in furtherance of the commission's purposes. The department of development and the department of transportation, upon the request of the commission, shall cooperate in the implementation of this section. The department of development shall provide meeting and office space for the commission.
- (G) Expenditures by the department of development, the commission, or any other state agency for capital improvements to promote economic development, marine cargo terminal operations, and travel and tourism on the Ohio river and its tributaries are subject to the approval of the controlling board.