

Ohio Revised Code

Section 2501.011 Additional judges in fifth through seventh districts.

Effective: July 10, 2003

Legislation: House Bill 159 - 125th General Assembly

(A) There shall be three additional judges of the court of appeals of the fifth district, composed of Ashland, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Guernsey, Holmes, Knox, Licking, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Perry, Richland, Stark, and Tuscarawas counties.

One of the additional judges of the fifth district court of appeals shall be elected at the general election in 1980 for a term of six years beginning February 10, 1981. One of the additional judges of the fifth district court of appeals shall be elected at the general election in 1982 for a term of six years beginning February 10, 1983. One of the additional judges of the fifth district court of appeals shall be elected at the general election in 2000 for a term of six years beginning February 11, 2001. The additional judges shall thereafter be elected to hold terms of six years.

In the fifth district, any three judges shall comprise the court of appeals in the hearing and disposition of cases in accordance with any local rules of practice and procedure that may be adopted by the judges of the court.

(B) There shall be two additional judges of the court of appeals of the sixth district, composed of Erie, Fulton, Huron, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Williams, and Wood counties.

One of the additional judges of the sixth district court of appeals shall be elected at the general election in 1980 for a term of six years beginning February 10, 1981. One of the additional judges of the sixth district court of appeals shall be elected at the general election in 1990 for a term of six years beginning on February 10, 1991. The additional judges shall thereafter be elected to hold terms of six years.

In the sixth district, any three judges shall comprise the court of appeals in the hearing and disposition of cases in accordance with any local rules of practice and procedure that may be adopted by the judges of the court.



(C) There shall be one additional judge of the court of appeals of the seventh district, composed of Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Harrison, Jefferson, Mahoning, Monroe, and Noble counties.

The additional judge shall be elected at the general election in 1996 for a term of six years beginning February 10, 1997. The additional judge thereafter shall be elected to hold terms of six years.

In the seventh district, any three judges shall comprise the court of appeals in the hearing and disposition of cases in accordance with any local rules of practice and procedure that may be adopted by the judges of the court.

(D) The judges provided for in this section and sections 2501.012 and 2501.013 of the Revised Code shall exercise the same powers and jurisdiction and perform the same duties as the judges of the courts of appeals; and shall receive the same compensation, as provided by law, for the judges of the courts of appeals.